Charoen Krung Road: The first road in Thailand

#Travel #Blog #RoyalThaiTravel #CharoenKrung #Bangrak

ref: http://entertainmentblogpictures.blogspot.com/

Charoen Krung Road is the small road surrounded by tall buildings and luxury hotels like Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok Shangrila, and Oriental Hotel. It is the first main road in Thailand built-in 1862-1864, where it formerly served the community of European expatriates. Even though Charoen Krung road is not well known for tourist attractions, you will discover more precious cultural heritages beyond the famous tourist attractions, and it may be one of your favorite areas in Bangkok. A walking day trip through the historic riverfront neighborhood is worth to visit, and we have the recommended place for you.

  • Bang Uthit Mosque: Mosque in Thailand with Turkish architecture style

Bang Uthit Mosque in Thailand, built in the early 20th century by Thai Muslims. Bang Uthit Mosque was constructed during the sovereignty of the Kingdom of Siam, which is the former name of Thailand. Having been recognized by the Kingdom of Siam, the Ottoman Empire was asked to send a coat of arms to put on the front of the mosque. Accordingly, Abdul Hamid II, the 34th Sultan of the Ottoman Empire reigned between August 31, 1876 — April 27, 1909. The charm of this mosque is its ottoman logo which stands out above the entrance. Later, the mosque was renovated with Turkish architecture style.

ref:

  • Baan Oou Mosque: the first registered mosque in Thailand.

Next to the Shangri-La hotel, there is a small mosque with a rich historical story. Built-in 1912, the century-old Ban Oou Mosque originated from a Muslim community that migrated from Pattani into Bangkok back in the day. At the time of King Rama, the fifth and the mosque is renovated and remain surrounding the Urban community. Baan Oou Mosque has named from the Muslim Shipyard community. The mosque is a one-floor building, and It is considered the first registered mosque in Thailand.


  • Old Custom House: The 130-year-old landmark of Siam

Back in history, when the international port in Siam was booming, the old customs house was played an important role as the gateway to Siam (Formal name of Thailand), and it was a symbol of opening free trade economy in Thailand back in 19th century. The old customs house was constructed on the Eastern bank of Chao Phraya river to levy taxes on traders trading goods entering and exits the country. The old customs house designs by Italian architect Joachim Grassi built-in Neo-Palladian style. The building is one of many western-style buildings commissioned by King Rama the fifth, which showed the trade history between Thailand and Western countries throughout history.


  • Masjid Haroon : Small Muslim community in Bangrak

Nearby Old custom house and Franch Embassy, There is one of a significant mosque in Bangkok located. Haroon mosque showcases migration within the region in the 1800s. During the history of old Bangkok, there was existed an active Muslim community in Bang Rak history. Formally mosque was built by wood with Ayutthaya-Java Staly influenced by an Indonesian-Arab trader’s son named Haroon Bafadel, who settled down in Bangrak, Bangkok, during the reign of King Rama the first.

Grand Post office Bangrak: From the old British Embassy to the creative resource center

Grand Post office Building is one of the historic buildings and also the landmark in Bang Rak District of Bangkok. The building was formally the British Legation. The building built in Neo-classic style designed by architects Miw Jitrasen Aphaiwong and Phrasarot Ratnanimman. Thai postal service was moved near the Chao Phraya River and Charoenkrung Road into the old British Embassy building. In 1940, the building was given a makeover into its majestic form today. Nowadays, besides the building for post office service, he building now houses the Thailand Creative & Design Center (TCDC) as a public resource center service in Thailand focused on the design and creativity.


Nelson Hay Library: 100 years Library in Bangrak

The Neilson Hay Library founded in 1869 with rare book collections. The building designed by Italian architect Mario Tamago. The building is well designed and constricted as double walls to help keep the books well-ventilated and dry—the highlight architectural designed with beautiful Italianate domes with the imposing entrance and unique art gallery. The building was awarded the status of “The historical Landmark” in 1986 by the association of Siamese Architects.


There is no surprise to see much historical heritage nearby this area with fascinating stories. It’s worth walking day trips to explore the Charoen Krung Road. Let us know where your favorite is.

Destination

Contact us at :

Royal Thai Travel & Trading Co., Ltd. 

 

77/1 Soi Ramkhamheng 53 ,

Ramkhamheng Rd., Wangthonglang

Bangkok, Thailand 10310 

Tel : (+66)2-935-2945

Fax: (+66)2-935-2946

Website: 

www.royalthaitraveltrading.com

© 2018 by Royal Thai Travel & Trading Co., Ltd. (TAT License no.:14/00734)